Avocados – How to Store Them

Growing up in Wisconsin, I had never had an avocado until I met my future husband when I was in my 20’s. I fell in love. With him, yes, but also with the avocado. It was so delicious – creamy, fresh, and versatile. Over the next 20+ years my love affair with avocados continued and today they are an integral part of my daily diet.

I eat according to the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD) in an attempt to cure my Inflammatory Bowel Disease. A major part of the diet is eliminating all grains. I am also dairy allergic so between these two eliminations I can be somewhat lacking in good fat. And that’s where the blessed avocado comes in. I put it in my morning smoothie, or eat it on the side of an egg dish, or slice it into a salad, or make guacamole. . .  and, and, and. There are so many ways I eat these fabulous green fruits (yep, they’re a fruit) that I could fill the page, but I won’t.

Rather, my point today is to share with you how to make these little beauties last. I tend to buy 5 each week, more if they are on sale. But the problem is, avocados don’t have a hugely long shelf life and their flavor can go off when those dratted little brown spots appear.

So, what’s an avocado fanatic to do? Puree and freeze, of course.

Just today I had four very quickly ripening avocados sitting on my counter – and I only bought them on Monday. I sliced each one open, removed the seed, and scooped the flesh into my food processor. I add the juice of one lemon and 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt, then whizzed it up until it was creamy.

Half of this mixture is now in my refrigerator stored in a glass bowl and well-wrapped to keep out the oxygen that could turn it brownish – the acid from the lemon should prevent this, but just to be sure I lay a piece of parchment paper on top of the puree, then wrap it air tight with plastic wrap. The other half is in my freezer. Yes, my freezer. We found out about this little trick a few years ago when we had to leave town rather suddenly and had a fresh bowl of guacamole in the ‘fridge that we just couldn’t bare to see go to waste. So we did a little experiment and it worked beautifully. To do this, store the puree in the same way I just explained, pop it into the freezer and when you need it, defrost it in the refrigerator and Voila! fresh avocado puree. You can eat it as is, or dress it up to make “fresh” guacamole.

I love it!

2 thoughts on “Avocados – How to Store Them

  1. I LOVE avocados and eat at least 1/2 a day. I read somewhere that avocados stay fresh longer in the fridge – and I find that to be very true. If the avocados are hard, let them ripen a bit on the counter, but once they are soft enough for you, pop them in the fridge! I don’t keep them in the crisper – just a bowl on the shelf – and they literally stay fresh for weeks. I don’t think I’ve had one go bad yet this way. I also love the avo-saver for keeping half an avocado fresh for a few days – if you google the name you can find sites that sell them.

    • Haha, scdgia. You’re right. I’ve been putting my perfectly ripe avocados into the refrigerator and they stay beautifully fresh, green, and tasty for a week or two longer. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

